iPhone 18 Pro vs iPhone 17 Pro: Should You Upgrade or Buy a Used 17 Pro?
iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro: full spec table, camera, battery, prices and trade-in values — plus who should upgrade and how to check a used 17 Pro safely.
Updated · 12 min read
In this article
- iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro: the full spec comparison
- What’s the difference between iPhone 17 Pro and 18 Pro?
- iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro camera: does variable aperture matter?
- iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro battery life
- iPhone 18 Pro Max vs 17 Pro Max
- Should I upgrade to iPhone 18 Pro? It depends on your current phone
- iPhone 17 Pro price drop: is a used iPhone 17 Pro worth it?
- Trade-in values after the iPhone 18 Pro launch
- Checklist: how to buy a used iPhone 17 Pro safely
- Verdict: iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro
iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro, in short: the iPhone 18 Pro is a faster, cooler-running and slightly longer-lasting phone with a variable-aperture main camera, Apple’s own C2 modem and a smaller Dynamic Island — but it looks almost identical, keeps the same 6.3-inch screen and costs $100 more at $1,199. If you own an iPhone 17 Pro, you don’t need to upgrade. If you own a 15 Pro or older, the 18 Pro is a real step up — but a used iPhone 17 Pro at around $820–$910 gets you most of the way there for far less.
Below you’ll find the full spec comparison, what changed in the camera and battery, the Pro Max differences, who should upgrade from a 15 Pro, 16 Pro or 17 Pro, what your old phone is worth now, and a checklist for buying a used 17 Pro without getting burned. All prices are US prices as of 3 October 2026.
iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro: the full spec comparison
Apple announced the iPhone 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max on 9 September 2026 and put them on sale on 18 September. On announcement day it discontinued the iPhone 17 Pro and 17 Pro Max, so the older models are now sold only by carriers, retailers and the used market. Here is how the two compare, based on Apple’s announcement, MacRumors’ comparison guide and launch reviews.
| Spec | iPhone 17 Pro (2025) | iPhone 18 Pro (2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Chip | A19 Pro, TSMC 3nm (N3P) | A20 Pro, TSMC 2nm (N2) |
| CPU | 6-core (2 performance + 4 efficiency) | 6-core (2 performance + 4 efficiency), with Neural Accelerators |
| GPU | 6-core | 7-core, up to 40% faster (Apple) |
| Neural Engine | 16-core | Dual 16-core (32 cores total) |
| Memory | 12GB RAM | 12GB RAM (reported), 50% more memory bandwidth |
| Cooling | Vapor chamber | Vapor chamber with about 3x the surface area; up to 40% better sustained performance (Apple) |
| Cellular modem | Qualcomm X80 | Apple C2 (about 15% less energy than C1X, mmWave in the US) |
| Wireless chip | Apple N1 (Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread) | Apple N1 (Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread) |
| Display | 6.3-inch OLED, 1–120Hz ProMotion, up to 3,000 nits | 6.3-inch OLED, 1–120Hz ProMotion, up to 3,000 nits; smaller Dynamic Island (three Live Activities) |
| Main camera | 48MP Fusion, fixed f/1.78 | 48MP Fusion, variable aperture f/1.48–f/4 (six blades) |
| Ultra wide | 48MP | 48MP |
| Telephoto | 48MP, 4x optical (8x optical-quality) | 48MP, 4x optical (8x optical-quality) |
| Front camera | 18MP Center Stage | 18MP Center Stage |
| Battery (reported) | about 4,252mAh | about 4,288mAh |
| Video playback (Apple, eSIM models) | up to 33 hours | up to 36 hours |
| Wired charging | 50% in about 20 minutes (40W adapter) | 50% in about 15 minutes (60W adapter) |
| Wireless charging | MagSafe/Qi2, 50% in about 30 minutes | MagSafe/Qi2, 50% in about 30 minutes |
| Build | Aluminum unibody, Ceramic Shield 2 front, IP68 | Aluminum unibody, Ceramic Shield 2 front, IP68 |
| Weight | 206g | 211g |
| Colors | Silver, Deep Blue, Cosmic Orange | Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy |
| Storage | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB |
| US launch price | $1,099 (256GB) | $1,199 (256GB) |
| Status | Discontinued by Apple 9 Sep 2026 | On sale since 18 Sep 2026 |
Battery capacities are not published by Apple; the figures above come from regulatory listings reported by Notebookcheck. RAM is likewise not stated by Apple and is based on reviews. Both phones are eSIM-only in the US, Canada, Mexico, Japan and several Gulf countries.
What’s the difference between iPhone 17 Pro and 18 Pro?
Strip away the marketing and there are five changes that matter in daily use. Everything else — screen, size, ultra wide and telephoto cameras, selfie camera, build — is essentially the same phone.
1. A 2nm chip that stays fast for longer
The A20 Pro is Apple’s first 2nm phone chip. The headline gain isn’t raw single-core speed but the GPU (one extra core, up to 40% faster according to Apple), the doubled Neural Engine for Apple Intelligence and the new Siri, and a vapor chamber with roughly three times the surface area. In practice that means long gaming sessions and 4K video recording throttle later. For web browsing, messaging and photos, you will struggle to feel a difference against the A19 Pro.
2. Apple’s own C2 modem
The 17 Pro used Qualcomm’s X80 modem; the 18 Pro switches to Apple’s C2. Apple claims about 15% lower energy use than the C1X and faster uploads, and the C2 adds mmWave 5G in the US. Early reviews have not reported reception problems, but independent carrier-by-carrier testing is still limited. If you live in a fringe-coverage area, that is worth keeping an eye on.
3. Faster charging
With a 60W-capable USB-C adapter, the 18 Pro reaches 50% in about 15 minutes, versus about 20 minutes on the 17 Pro. Wireless charging speed is unchanged.
4. A smaller Dynamic Island
The island is redesigned and can show three Live Activities at once. Smartprix’s review estimated it is about 25% smaller, though it still cuts into full-screen video.
5. The variable-aperture main camera
This is the one genuinely new piece of hardware, and it gets its own section below.
iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro camera: does variable aperture matter?
The iPhone 17 Pro’s main camera has a fixed f/1.78 aperture. The 18 Pro’s main camera has six mechanical blades that move from f/1.48 (wider, more light, shallower depth of field) to f/4 (narrower, more of the scene in focus). Apple and MacRumors describe it as a new sensor with around 50% better low-light performance, plus Pro controls for aperture, shutter speed and white balance in the Camera app.
What that means for you:
- Low light: f/1.48 lets in noticeably more light than f/1.78, which helps night shots and indoor video without pushing noise reduction as hard.
- Natural background blur: at f/1.48 close-ups get real optical bokeh rather than relying only on Portrait mode.
- Groups and landscapes: stopping down toward f/4 keeps more of the frame sharp, and it can produce sunstar effects on bright lights.
The ultra wide, the 4x telephoto and the 18MP front camera are carried over. Reviewers’ verdicts have been consistent: everyday photos look almost identical between the two phones. Smartprix called the camera hardware “largely unchanged” and flagged lens flare at wide apertures, and its reviewer said the upgrade offers limited incentive for iPhone 17 Pro owners. If you mostly shoot in Auto mode, you won’t see a big jump.
iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro battery life
On paper, the 18 Pro adds three hours of video playback (36 vs 33 hours, Apple’s figures for eSIM models). In real-world tests the gain is smaller and depends on what you do:
- Tom’s Guide web-browsing test over cellular (150 nits): iPhone 18 Pro 16 hours 17 minutes; iPhone 18 Pro Max 18 hours 27 minutes.
- Notebookcheck comparison: the 18 Pro lasted about an hour longer than the 17 Pro in light browsing, but 11 minutes less in a Genshin Impact gaming test. The battery is only about 36mAh larger, so the gains come almost entirely from chip and modem efficiency.
- Smartprix reported 8–10 hours of screen-on time in mixed daily use.
Bottom line: the 18 Pro is a bit better for light use and charges faster, but a healthy 17 Pro is not far behind. A worn battery matters more than the generation — a 17 Pro at 85% battery health will lose to either new phone. Learn how to read it in our battery health and parts history guide.
iPhone 18 Pro Max vs 17 Pro Max
The larger models follow the same pattern, with one exception: battery and weight changed more.
| Spec | iPhone 17 Pro Max | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.9-inch, 120Hz | 6.9-inch, 120Hz |
| Battery (reported) | about 5,088mAh | about 5,567mAh (+9.4%) |
| Video playback (Apple, eSIM) | up to 39 hours | up to 45 hours |
| Weight | 233g | 249g |
| Thickness | 8.75mm | 8.75mm |
| US launch price | $1,199 | $1,299 |
The 18 Pro Max is Apple’s heaviest Pro Max yet. BGR rounded up review comments on the extra 16 grams; 9to5Mac wrote that “with the iPhone 18 Pro Max, I think we’ve reached” the limit of how heavy a Max can be while staying comfortable. In exchange you get one of the longest-lasting phones Apple has made: Notebookcheck found it lasted 23 minutes longer than the 17 Pro Max in its gaming test, and Tom’s Guide measured nearly 18.5 hours of browsing. If battery life is your main reason to upgrade, the Pro Max is the model where the 2026 upgrade is most noticeable.
Should I upgrade to iPhone 18 Pro? It depends on your current phone
From an iPhone 17 Pro or 17 Pro Max: no, for most people
You already have the same screen, the same ultra wide and telephoto cameras, 12GB of RAM, Apple Intelligence and the new Siri. Apple’s trade-in offer for a 17 Pro is $785 (MacRumors, 15 September 2026), so even with trade-in you pay over $400 for a camera aperture, a smaller island and faster charging. Upgrade only if you shoot a lot of low-light or creative photography and want manual aperture control, you game heavily and want better sustained performance, or you are moving from a 17 Pro to the 18 Pro Max for battery life.
From an iPhone 16 Pro: maybe — wait if your battery is fine
The 16 Pro has an A18 Pro and 8GB of RAM, a 12MP 5x telephoto and a Qualcomm modem. The 18 Pro gives you 12GB of RAM, a 48MP telephoto, faster charging and two chip generations of headroom. However, the 16 Pro took the biggest hit in Apple’s trade-in update — down 19% from $630 to $510. If your battery health is above 85% and you’re happy with the camera, keeping it another year makes financial sense. If you want an upgrade without paying $1,199, a used 17 Pro is the obvious middle ground.
From an iPhone 15 Pro or older: yes, this is a real upgrade
The 15 Pro launched with 8GB of RAM, an A17 Pro chip and a 12MP telephoto (3x on the 15 Pro, 5x on the 15 Pro Max). It is the oldest iPhone that runs Apple Intelligence and the new Siri, so it is at the bottom of the support curve for AI features. By now its battery is probably due for service. Apple offers $370 for it in trade. Either an 18 Pro or a used 17 Pro will feel like a new class of phone: faster charging, a much better telephoto, Wi-Fi 7, the 48MP ultra wide and considerably longer battery life.
From an iPhone 14 Pro, 13 Pro or non-Pro model
Same advice as the 15 Pro, with more urgency if your phone can’t run Apple Intelligence at all (anything older than the 15 Pro). Check our used iPhone model guide if you’re weighing older options too.
iPhone 17 Pro price drop: is a used iPhone 17 Pro worth it?
Apple stopped selling the 17 Pro on 9 September 2026. That does two things: new stock from Apple is gone, and the used market fills up with trade-ins and early upgraders. According to Swappa’s price page (updated 3 October 2026), used iPhone 17 Pro sales average about $909 for 256GB, $1,041 for 512GB and $1,058 for 1TB, with the cheapest listings starting around $820. Unlocked phones and phones in mint condition sell for more.
Compared with a new 256GB 18 Pro at $1,199, that is a saving of roughly $290–$380 for a phone with the same screen, the same telephoto and ultra wide, the same RAM and the same software support outlook. You give up the variable aperture, the C2 modem, the faster charging and the bigger cooling system. For most buyers, that trade is worth it.
The deal looks less attractive when the price gets close to $1,000 for a 256GB model, the battery health is below about 90%, there’s no remaining warranty, or the phone is carrier-locked. Swappa notes that used iPhones typically sell 30% to 60% below their new price depending on age and condition; a one-year-old 17 Pro sits at the top of that range. Prices outside the US differ — in the UAE, Khaleej Times reported traders expected used iPhones to lose around 10% of their value within a week of the 18 Pro launch.
Trade-in values after the iPhone 18 Pro launch
Apple cut trade-in values for every older iPhone after the September event. MacRumors tracked the changes on 15 September 2026:
| Model | Apple trade-in before | Apple trade-in now |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 17 Pro | — (new to list) | up to $785 |
| iPhone 16 Pro | $630 | up to $510 |
| iPhone 15 Pro | $420 | up to $370 |
Apple’s overall range for the 18 Pro is $175–$885, and Apple says US carriers are offering up to $1,200 in credit for an iPhone 14 or newer. Carrier credits are usually paid monthly over 24–36 months and tied to an unlimited plan, so compare the total cost, not the headline number. For a full view of private-sale prices by model, see our used phone price guide.
Checklist: how to buy a used iPhone 17 Pro safely
A one-year-old Pro iPhone is exactly what thieves and scammers like to sell: high value, easy to move, and still in demand. Most problems can be ruled out before you pay. Work through these steps in order:
- Get the IMEI or serial number first. Run a free All-in-one Basic Info check to confirm it really is an iPhone 17 Pro (not a 17 or a 16 Pro), the correct storage and color, and that Find My is off.
- Check the blacklist. A GSMA blacklist check shows whether the IMEI has been reported lost or stolen anywhere in the world.
- Check the carrier lock. Many US 17 Pros were sold on installment plans. A carrier and SIM-lock check tells you which network the phone is tied to. In Settings › General › About, Carrier Lock should say “No SIM restrictions”.
- Plan the eSIM. US-model 17 Pros have no SIM tray. Make sure your carrier supports eSIM and that the seller removes their own eSIM. See our eSIM setup and transfer guide.
- Match the IMEI three ways. Dial
*#06#, check Settings › General › About and compare with the number you checked online and any receipt. - Watch the seller sign out and erase. They must sign out of their Apple Account and run Erase All Content and Settings in front of you. You should land on the “Hello” screen. A seller who “can’t remember the password” is a deal-breaker — only the owner or Apple (with proof of purchase) can remove Activation Lock.
- Check Parts and Service History. Settings › General › About shows replaced batteries, screens and cameras and whether they are genuine Apple parts. For a deeper look, a full GSX report shows warranty status, repair history and sold-by details.
- Check battery health. Settings › Battery › Battery Health. On a one-year-old 17 Pro, expect roughly 90% or more; less than that is a reason to negotiate.
- Inspect the aluminum body. The 17 Pro’s anodized aluminum unibody showed scuffs around the edges of the camera plateau on some early units, especially in darker colors. Look closely in good light and price accordingly.
- Test the hardware. Face ID, all three rear cameras, the front camera, speakers, microphones, the Camera Control button, USB-C charging and MagSafe.
Our complete 15-point used iPhone checklist covers every step in more detail, including how to pay safely.
Verdict: iPhone 18 Pro vs 17 Pro
The iPhone 18 Pro is the better phone, but it is a refinement rather than a reinvention. The A20 Pro, the C2 modem and the variable-aperture camera are meaningful engineering steps, and the 18 Pro Max in particular has excellent battery life. For iPhone 17 Pro owners, though, the upgrade is hard to justify. For iPhone 15 Pro owners and older, it is a worthwhile jump — and so is a carefully checked used 17 Pro, which delivers most of the experience for roughly $300 less.
Whichever you choose, check the phone’s status before money changes hands. For a deeper look at the new model’s chip and security, read our iPhone 18 Pro A20 Pro specs and security guide.
Frequently asked questions
What’s the difference between iPhone 17 Pro and 18 Pro?
The iPhone 18 Pro has a 2nm A20 Pro chip with a 7-core GPU, Apple’s C2 modem, a variable-aperture f/1.48–f/4 main camera, faster 60W charging, a smaller Dynamic Island and up to 2TB of storage. The screen, telephoto, ultra wide and front cameras are essentially unchanged.
Should I upgrade from iPhone 17 Pro to iPhone 18 Pro?
For most people, no. The gains are a better main camera aperture, faster charging and better sustained performance. It makes more sense if you game heavily, want manual aperture control or are moving up to the 18 Pro Max for battery life.
Is the iPhone 18 Pro camera better than the 17 Pro?
The main camera adds a variable aperture and a sensor Apple says has around 50% better low-light performance. The telephoto, ultra wide and front cameras are carried over, and reviewers found everyday photos very similar.
Does the iPhone 18 Pro have better battery life than the 17 Pro?
Slightly. Apple rates it at 36 hours of video playback versus 33, and tests show about an hour more in light use but no gain in heavy gaming. The 18 Pro Max improves more, thanks to a battery about 9% larger.
How much is a used iPhone 17 Pro worth now?
In early October 2026, Swappa data shows used 256GB iPhone 17 Pro sales averaging about $909, with listings from around $820. Apple’s trade-in offer is up to $785.
Is a used iPhone 17 Pro worth buying in 2026?
Yes, if it’s priced well under $1,000, has 90% or better battery health and passes Find My, blacklist and carrier checks. It shares the screen, RAM, telephoto and ultra wide camera with the iPhone 18 Pro.
What did iOS 27.0.1 fix on the iPhone 18 Pro?
Released on 28 September 2026, it fixed unexpected restarts when Face ID failed to authenticate and a color artifact in some 2x photos taken at f/1.48. It also fixed a touchscreen freeze on all iPhones.